Just another WordPress.com weblog

Madras as I know it

Having lived in three four different states in India over a period of 21 odd years, and in two of the metropolitan cities, I think I love Madras more than the other cities. And probably this love is also because I have had some of the best times of my life in that city.

  • Lots of us complain about the crowds (especially the peters and the abroad return types!) But trust me, I just do not know any other way in which some place like T.Nagar will thrive. At times I do feel that it feeds of this crowd. šŸ˜› Just as how I cannot imagine Times Square empty/crowd less, I think T.Nagar without the crowd will feel dead.
  • The PTC/Pallavan buses – People always complain about how the auto folks in my city always are intent on ripping the wallets off their customers. But my question would be how many of them have travelled in the pallavan buses? Just take a novel with you if you are planning to use these buses, and there are good chances you might finish half of it. Yet standing in those buses, all sweaty, one man slamming in to the next when the bus stops, all are part of the fun.
  • The food – Am not going to waste time talking about how blissful the food in Chennai is. DOT!
  • Culture, history, heritage – I think I would leave that to some one more knowledgeable to write about.
  • The best thing I love about the city – the distinct early morning smell that emanates during the Madras winter – around december january. Absolute bliss.

Am not going to take pot shots at how the other cities are or what they lack. I have been to all the big cities except for Mumbai. But none of them had made me feel more comfortable than chennai. Call it whatever you want. Some complain about the traffic and some complain about the weather. Well the traffic can get ugly at times but that is the case in every big city around the world. Weather – I agree some may find it difficult to get acclimatised to. But for the three months of April May June, the 10 years I was in Chennai the rest were good. I still remember the hours we used to spend in the grounds playing cricket. 100’s of kids running around in the same ground playing cricket. Some complain about the lack of night life. For someone like me who boozes every night, goes pubbing clubbing every weekend, it might be a big miss. But thats fine. šŸ˜› Who cares about night life, when I am so immersed in the beauty of the city during the day?

6 responses

  1. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    November 17, 2010 at 8:12 am

    • viswajithkn

      šŸ˜€

      November 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm

  2. RA

    Awesome post munk!!
    But you sir get a double thumbs up just for calling it Madras..:P

    November 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    • viswajithkn

      danke danke!

      November 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm

  3. KK

    gumthalakadi gummava namma chennai’na summavaa šŸ™‚

    Looks like u got some inspiration from this youtube video ?

    November 17, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    • viswajithkn

      well yea and it also seemed like a good time to write a post abt chennai. havent written anything about Our singara madras.

      November 17, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Leave a Reply

