Just another WordPress.com weblog

Education

I was reading this blog by a friend Nithya. Now the last post script in that write up was what really got me hooked on/interested on to it. This post left me wondering on what my attitude towards reservation is actually. Coz I am usually the type who just gets on with it however unfair the situation might be. I am the type who just gets frustrated for a minute or two and gets on with the life at hand. So when I read some of the replies on buzz to this post, I started thinking. May be the lady does have a point about reservation and some folks’ attitude towards it. And having sat on this post for an entire couple of months I still am not able to make up my mind and decide whether am for reservation or am against. To be honest I think that post and the post script are correct. We never had a level playing field in our country. There are folks out there who are just not able to receive proper education because of not being able to afford it or being pulled up by their families to earn some sort of income. Any system for that matter is going to have its pros and its cons. Similarly I believe reservation does breed its own negativity with people changing the communities yada yada on their birth certificate just to get in to a good school or college. Yet if there is any ill feeling for people who believe they deserved the said seat or whatever based on pure merit and lost it out coz of reservation I just have one thing to say: “If one is good enough and has had decent primary/secondary education he will survive in this world.” He will not just survive but in turn do his bit for the betterment of humanity as such. At the same time reservation based on economical status will also have its disadvantages. For folks who have found out loop holes in the existing system how hard is it going to be to find out loop holes in the next scheme of reservation? I am not going to be a hypocrite saying I was not frustrated coz of reservation. But removing it is not a solution. How can we make the existing system better so that there are not many loop holes would be the better question.

4 responses

  1. 😀 I like the makeover of the blog 😀

    November 3, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    • viswajithkn

      the festival of lights demanded some freshness.

      November 3, 2010 at 9:35 pm

  2. RA

    I didnt get to read ur post yet 😛 but +1 for this new blog theme..

    November 4, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    • viswajithkn

      danke!

      November 4, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

