Just another WordPress.com weblog

Growing Up

I thought homesickness was basically missing one’s family and one’s hometown. If that is the case how is it related to growing up? I get this statement when I say I have always been homesick. “Grow up Boy”! How are the two related? Can’t a grown up miss his family or hometown? Even if one does get along with his life can’t he feel homesick? I have always considered Chennai to be my hometown and that is where my heart will be. If I say I miss that place and I have always felt homesick even when I live (for a substantial period) outside the city, I seriously do not understand it being related to growing up or maturing as an individual. Ha…society and its rules!

10 responses

  1. Aaah don’t pay heed to such people…
    Btw, was it meant in a way that you should be a strong grown up and bounce back soon? Or is missing home itself childish according to them?

    February 24, 2010 at 7:38 am

    • viswajithkn

      The question was “Recovered from homesickness?” I answered: I am ok now but always have been homesick. To this the said person immediately replies: “Grow up boy!” I mean the fact that one continues to get on with his work, smile laugh, etc irrespective of how he feels or how homesick he is just means that he/she is strong right? 🙂

      February 24, 2010 at 7:53 am

      • wow!!! no wonder it rubbed you the wrong way…
        ignore maar 🙂

        February 24, 2010 at 8:37 am

    • viswajithkn

      hmm…yeah…thats what I did!

      February 24, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  2. don’t be bothered by these silly comments…

    February 24, 2010 at 7:39 am

    • viswajithkn

      hmm yeah!

      February 24, 2010 at 7:55 am

  3. Blah..as Divz says just ingore..People just things for the sake of saying something..

    February 24, 2010 at 8:55 am

    • viswajithkn

      yep…thanks!

      February 24, 2010 at 3:45 pm

  4. Good question there 🙂
    People often relate growing up with the urge to leave home and fly far to explore the world (just like birds do). But at the same time missing home all the time shows how affectionate and attached you are to the town (in your case) and all the loved ones.
    It’s perfectly normal emotion. As you rightly think it has nothing to do with growing up.

    Have fun and ignore the comments that make no logical sense.

    It’s my first visit to your blog and am loving your thoughtful posts.

    Keep up the good work.

    Cheers!!

    March 10, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    • hey thanks a lot. welcome here.

      March 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Leave a Reply

