Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Top 20 Movies list

Hello everybody, that is twice in a single day that I have started blogging. But I was seeing the videos posted by my friend on Orkut and he started talking movies, when I realized why not do a list of the best movies I have seen so far. They involve all the languages I might have seen, though the lingos might be just Hindi, Tam, Telugu or English. Lemme start off without further ado

20. Swades – This movie made me seriously think about stuff. I was rocked after seeing this movie. Personally I think this was one of SRK’s best performances. For a change here was a movie that talked about the ground reality. Kudos to Ashutosh Gowariker. Hats off. I thought this was a better movie than Lagaan and I felt bad that this movie did not do well at the box office.

19. Shawshank Redemption – I saw this movie when I was going through a tough time – when a family friend had passed away, research was going no where, and job search had just started. This movie changed the way I looked at life. Seriously, thats when I realized hope can be the torch light to guide one during dark times.

18. A Wednesday – Boy finally we had a movie on terrorism, that was sensible, entertaining and yet thoughtful. Naseerudin Shah was great and so was Anupam Kher. Why don’t they make such movies in Hindi more often?

17. Devar Magan – Only when I saw it recently for the umpteenth number of time did I realize the subtle manner in which this tale was inspired by God Father. A very subtle manner indeed, by using something similar to Michael Corleone’s lifestyle for Kamal’s. And the performances – powerhouse.

16. Bourne – All the three movies of Bourne will be in my collection if I were to make a dvd collection some day. Stunning fast paced entertainment, superb editing, and the story keeps moving forward every second. I especially like the second and third part’s with the manner in which they were interlinked.

15. The Usual Suspects – This was drama at it’s thrilling best. Kevin Spacey’s performance was awesome. The support cast were awesome. The storyline – superb. Need I say more?

14. Kaminey – I did not know if this movie deserved a place, but I knew for a fact that this was one movie with a difference. This was fast paced, unlike Omkara or Maqbool. The problem I have with those movies? They are too slow paced for me. I hope I complete watching Omkara sometime but let us see. Maqbool? I just gave up three fourths of the way. I read the story in wiki. But kaminey was total fun, time pass, and entertainment. Paifa Vafool.

13. Taare Zameen Par – If at all a movie made me cry (yeah a movie did, I accept without shame!) it was this one. I saw it only once strangely for a movie that I think is awesome, yet the performance of Darshan Safari as the young dyslexic kid was so moving, that I could not bear watching it again and end up in tears.

12. Chennai 28 – Total Kalaai. This movie reminded me of the days I spent in chennai playing cricket. It is good entertainment and yet it was realistic in many ways. Not the mindless movies dished out in Tamil by other actors. The movie shows how middle class kids/guys enjoy their cricket and consider it to be their passion in Chennai. And it was a spoof too. πŸ™‚

It is so tough to pick a favorite man. And so far it has been extremely tough. But hence forth the job becomes slisha easier. For I am pretty sure about 6 of the movies in the top 10. Lemme continue.

11. Mulholland drive – This is a very recent addition for me. Confusing. Stunning. Mind-bending. What amazed me most was the way the dream like sequences and the reality was distinguished using clever picturzation/cinematography. The gloss was visible in every scene in the dream sequences. Colors were much more opulent. When the reality sets in, its all different. I need to catch up with David Lynch’s other works too.

10. Black – My final Hindi movie in the list. I like this movie for multiple reasons. Amitabh stopped playing this angry old man/angry father/angry colonel, Lieutenant in this movie. And Rani stopped dancing in skimpy clothes and acted for a change. Above all the young kid playing Rani’s character when she is young. Once again I admire Ravi K Chandran for his cinematography and applaud Sanjay Leela Bhansali for making a very brave effort.

9. The Prestige – Another christopher nolan movie, this time with Christian Bale. This was one movie that left me with only one word. WOW. The number of twists, turns etc etc I would say had this been an original effort on Nolan’s part this one would have been putting up a good fight to be at the top of my list. Sad it was an adaptation.

8. Avatar – This is the latest addition. Reason being technically the movie is the best I have seen so far. No question about that. Though James Cameron might have overlooked the story quite a bit, watching it on IMAX 3D was perfect entertainment.

7. Alaipayuthey – A movie that was light years ahead of its time. Mani Ratnam had proven that he was one of the best in business in India. Madhavan and Shalini brought a freshness to their characters that no one else could have. I do not think I need to say nything more on this movie.

6. Thalapathi – The latest to this collection. I noticed the first 45 minutes of the movie were just like any other movie. Little did I realize that those 45 minutes set the platform for what wan an explosive remaining hour and a half. Top notch drama. Extraordinary performances and one particular thing that grabbed my attention was Rajnikanth did not put up his usual show of punch dialogues and styles. He instead acted. That was quiet refreshing.

5. Memento – Another mind bender of a movie. Christopher Nolan and Guy Pearce combine to provide us with this absolute masterclass. The non linear story. One story line in forward chronology, one in reverse. After seeing this movie I realized that movies can leave us confused too. Had to watch it 3-4 times to even come close to understanding it.

4. Schindlers List – Steven Spielberg – I bow to thee. Ralph Fiennes – I bow to thee. Liam Neeson and Ben Kingsley – Awesome. This movie ended up giving me lots to think about and troubled me no ends. And the best way to picturize this movie? Black and white. Very clever move by Mr. Spielberg.

3. The Dark Knight – Heath Ledger was stunning. Gripping drama. Christian Bale proved a good supporting act. A storyline to give other good movies a decent run for their money. And Christopher Nolan. I was obsessed with this movie for days after I had seen it. I saw it the very first day.

The top two movies are going to adaptations from books. Yet they occupy the top positions because these two trilogies could not have been made any better by any other director. They stand out towering above all others. It was a very close contest personally choosing between these two. Honestly I would have preferred giving a tie. But…

2. LOTR : I consider the three books to be pretty huge and massive on content. This for me made adapting these books in to movies all the more tougher. Yet Peter Jackson did an amazing job at it. Also the picturization, the visuals, the CGI, the actors, the costumes, everything was spot on. My personal favorite in the three movies is the sequence when Frodo makes a run for Rivendell from Shire. Those were the 15 – 30 minutes of the most impressive sequences. Amazing camera work during those chases on horse backs. New Zealand could not have been shown better on the big screen.

1. Godfather: This will probably be a favorite for me just like how it is for many. Marlon Brando Rocked. Al Pacino rocked. Robert DeNiro was wonderful. The first two parts were just about awesome. Perfect.

I have not seen many good movies like Dalapathi, or The goodfellas or The Scarface. Lot more good movies like LA Confidential, Insomnia, District 9, Nayagan, Kurudhi Poonal, Roja, Devdas, Don, Sholay missed making my list. And try as much as I can, I was not able to find any good Hindi movies in the 90’s. What to do if people keep releasing different versions of the same Khiladi every year? Hope to come back and edit this list later on after I have seen Dalapathi and the other two.

P.S: the list is slightly edited as I have now seen Thalapathi and am wondering how I contrived to miss it all these days. Mudhalvan definitely goes out and instead in number 6 I have Thalapathi.

7 responses

  1. i havent seen many of these movies on the list…will have to catch up πŸ™‚

    me wants to go for 3 idiots too :(…sigh.ok do let me know how the movie is…

    December 24, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    • viswajithkn

      come here…:P though i suppose it wud have released in Boston too if am right.

      December 24, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    • yes but no company…me no likey going to the movies alone. anyway. i will figure out a way πŸ˜€

      December 24, 2009 at 7:20 pm

      • viswajithkn

        idhule ennatha figure out panradu…wait for a couple of days…a nice print will be available online…:D watch it on u r laptop

        December 24, 2009 at 7:22 pm

      • “idhule ennatha figure out panradu” – ROFL…it might be easy for smart people like you, but it takes me to figure out πŸ˜›

        December 24, 2009 at 7:26 pm

      • viswajithkn

        you missy have made it a habit to make my day by such amusing responses…:D πŸ˜› someone considers me to be smart…ha ha

        December 24, 2009 at 7:30 pm

  2. Somehow I have never wanted to see Black and am too much of a chicken to watch Schindlers List

    December 25, 2009 at 2:45 am

Leave a Reply

