Just another WordPress.com weblog

Avatar: A review

I very rarely do movie reviews on my blog. But this time I have no other option but to come out with a detailed discussion on this movie. Why so? There are movies that I like outright! No second opinions about them. For example The Dark Knight, Memento, Swades, Virumaandi and the list keeps going on. Or I just hate them outright like 2012, or a Vijay movie or Blue…Do I love Avatar? Yes. Will I watch it again? I might. Does the movie has stunning story or amazing performances? Naah. To put it bluntly AVATAR = BOLLYWOOD MASALA + HOLLYWOOD TECHNICAL WIZARDRY. The Hollywood Technical Wizardry part is whatย  makes the movie stunning. Forget about the story. There is nothing new about it. But not at one point, did I get a feel that this part of the movie is totally CGI or this part of the movie is made using sets. Seamless and astounding. I saw it on IMAX 3 D and it was indeed a mind-blowing experience. The colors, camera work (if at all there was any), the animals, the blue humanoids everything was just about perfect. It just goes to show, that even if there is not much of a script or character development in a movie, by using technology one can immerse you and make you feel overwhelmed. I guess James Cameron started off trying to make a technical movie par excellence and he was never trying to make a movie with great storyline. At no point in the movie do we feel that the creatures (humanoids + animals) in the distant moon are CGI implants or some lame individual with a mask. They are as real as you can get. My recommendation would be this: “Leave your brains at home, and go immerse yourself in the stunning world created by James Cameron and co. Avatar proves that technology can literally create magic on silver screen”. A definite 4 on 5. I forgive Monseiur Cameron for using a bollywoody storyline just because he compensated for them in other areas. Oh yeah forgot to add one thing, watch it on IMAX 3D. The only way you can enjoy this movie!

6 responses

  1. hmmmm….good to know that you enjoyed it.

    December 21, 2009 at 2:38 am

    • viswajithkn

      whoa…that was fast! vettiness? ๐Ÿ˜›

      December 21, 2009 at 2:40 am

      • ๐Ÿ˜› call it what you want…vettiness or dedication to all the blogs i read. take your pick ๐Ÿ˜€

        December 21, 2009 at 2:43 am

      • viswajithkn

        I will call it this way: Dedication in reading my blog and a bit of vettiness…:P

        December 21, 2009 at 2:45 am

      • me no likey in betweens :P….it’s either that or this :D…so i will call it dedication, you can take your inbetween stance

        December 21, 2009 at 2:59 am

      • viswajithkn

        aahaa..seri i accept defeat…it is your dedication in reading my blog and not vettiness…:P

        December 21, 2009 at 3:32 am

Leave a Reply

