Just another WordPress.com weblog

Year End

It is that time of the year when we all wonder how quickly the year has gone by and excited about what the new year will be bringing for us. In a way as you all know this year has been a huge one, starting to work after my masters, completing my masters etc etc. It has also been a mixed sort of year personally. An uncle and an aunt passed away. I am this person who is never moved to tears by deaths. Rarely have I cried to be honest. Having had to flit around the entire country because of my dad’s work, I never was close to any of my relatives. Yes I would talk to them casually but I was not close. I would stay with my cousins, have fun with them talk to them jovially but then out of the infinite cousins I have, I think I can name a very select couple of them with whom I am close. Even when my grandmother passed away some time back I somehow did not feel pain or cry as I just felt that may be she had reached a better place than this one! I have pretty much come to realize this about myself. So that was one downer.

Moving on, even closer to self, I came to know the hard way that a person I liked(a close friend of mine) was in love with my other best friend. It had been going on for a couple of years and though I was suspicious, I somehow let my heart wander around and told this best friend about the way I thought of the other person. When the reply came that the person I liked was already in a relationship and committed to someone else, it was not a surprise yet it was a bit of a downer. It took me some time to recover from the shock though I at times do get angry that the two people I thought I was close to and were my best friends did not think of me as worthy enough to inform about their relationship. šŸ˜› But then everyone to himself and they did what they thought would be best for their relationship and am happy that they are together. They still will probably be my closest buddies who understand me very well. Here’s a toast to them! So the best part of the summer took time in recovering from the shock and making new friends in Cali. This resulted in lots of traveling around california and this resulted in the header for my blog taken at lassen park one weekend. Every weekend I spent money traveling to Yosemite, Lassen, Los Angeles, 17 Mile drive, Monterey bay. I was occupied pretty much every weekend as either I was going to places or friends would drop by in the Bay area. It is this winter which is proving to be slow with work pretty much keeping me occupied 14 hours a day and me taking time off during weekends. One positive thing about this entire period is I have hit the gym daily for an hour and that gives me a life outside work too…:PĀ  And the worst part of it all is that mom has put initial hints and fundae about marriage and stuff. I promised her that I would not return to India for a couple of years if she continued in the same vein! Thankfully she has not brought it up again. Who is in any hurry! So thats that for the year. Oops I forgot to add this – I am listening to a lot more gult songs these days. Though I just choose Illayaraja classics and listen to them.

6 responses

  1. so sorry to hear about your uncle and aunt.

    and sorry about how it didn’t work out with the person you liked too..but then, look at the bright side, something better might be waiting :-)…

    i’m soooo gonna make sure i visit CA next year…high time i did that šŸ™‚

    December 13, 2009 at 6:15 am

    • viswajithkn

      thank you.. i suppose they r doing better upstairs…:) And about the person I liked…you need not be sorry about that. Guess in a way it was good too. I was more disappointed with them not telling me. But then they r still my best buddies…:D sure do visit CA. Tonnes of things you can do here…IF you are interested we can also meet up..:P

      December 13, 2009 at 6:22 am

  2. i am very sorry know about your uncle and aunt. and m happy how well u have taken your friends’ ‘shock’. i understand your disappointment, but i’ll tell u something. AB and I were friends long before we committed to a relationship. so when we did, we didn’t tell any of our friends for a few months coz we were not sure bout things ourselves. we thought why bother them? if they come to kow they’ll either encourage it so much, that it may be pushy for us, and we wanted to take things slowly. if they didn’t think it was a good idea, they’d discourage us, again that’d be against our will. so for the relation to work or not, it needed some space and privacy. once we were sure, we told all of them, one by one and it was fun to see them get shocked. but we honestly don’t know, if anybody’s heart was silently broken by that, but i think not…
    hope this side of the story helps u to recover better…

    December 13, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    • viswajithkn

      hey actually it was a shock for a short while and then i just kept myself occupied with other things and got myself distracted. so yes it was actually better than how I see some of my other friends taking things of this sort. having just moved to a new place making new friends and traveling to new places helped me too. just that i seriously did not feel it worth talking about! how was your weekend?

      December 13, 2009 at 7:50 pm

  3. weekend-a? saturday was good but sunday was a waste šŸ˜›
    moved to a new place? that’s nice šŸ™‚

    December 14, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    • viswajithkn

      naa…havent moved to a new place…landlady said she will find a new roommate…so i dint move…am safe till feb! šŸ˜›

      December 14, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

