Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tiger Grounded??

So the tiger has finally bit more than it can chew! Today at work I was having this serious conversation/argument with a colleague of mine about Monsieur Woods and his recent revelations. I was of the opinion that the media finally jumped on him and have totally shredded him to pieces. I am of the opinion that the media are beginning to go overboard about it. I agree he screwed up his life big time. But is he not entitled to his privacy? This morning I type http://www.bbc.com and the first thing I see is “Tiger Woods mother in law is hospitalized adding to his personal troubles!” . In the evening I visit bbc again and I find first thing “Tiger Woods mother in law returns home!”. My immediate thought was “chalo next they will say – so and so went to the loo.” I mean with him being a celebrity, he is bound to get some media attention, but this was just a bit too much. One has to respect the achievements as a professional, may be even discuss it, comment on it but I believe the line should be drawn there. The next thing whatever the said person might have done ten 15 years back people would be digging it up and portraying the person as a villain. I am not defending Monsieur Woods, but I am just wondering on why the media cannot treat a celebrity as just another common man and let him lead his life? Talk about his performance at the Augusta Masters or at the US open but let it stop there. Let us not talk about what he did after winning the major at Torrey Pines. People might argue that even Woods himself came out and made a statement about having made mistakes. Is the media not satisfied with it? Anyways by writing this blog I suppose even I am making a common man in to a celebrity. 😛 Kya sahi Kya galath…:D But buoy did the gentleman enjoy? rofl.

5 responses

  1. well…i’m totally with you that media coverage shudn’t be given so much to the little things the famous people do…but then that happens because many people are interested in the private affairs of the public figures, right?…so we can’t just blame the media…if we as common people stop being interested in the public figure’s priavate affairs, and just get on with our lives, then media wud change angles to cover what interests us the most, right?…

    December 9, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    • Seriously. Thats why I added the last line saying “By writing this blog I am kind of bitching about someone else’s life making a common man in to a celebrity.

      December 9, 2009 at 5:59 pm

      • hmmm

        December 11, 2009 at 7:28 am

    • btw i forgot to add…thanks for commenting on my blog…:D

      December 9, 2009 at 6:22 pm

      • 😆

        December 11, 2009 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

