Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blind Hope

Is it wrong to have blind hope at times? Is it wrong to be absurdly optimistic? I was having a conversation with this friend of mine the other day and he was at times basically ridiculing me for carrying this blind hope when he thinks its a lost cause. The sad part is even his situation at times earlier this year seemed to be a lost cause, yet he was able to stage a recovery. By being optimistic are we not giving this other friend a hope and chance to stage a similar and if possible better recovery? Where is that thin red line that differentiates being optimistic and turning towards practicality? What do you chaps think?

11 responses

  1. i think being optimistic is great…but i really don’t know when it gets to be too much…on the one hand, it’s good to have hopes and look forward to it…at the same time one needs to make sure you are ready to face things if it were to go against your hopes…my thoughts affects my moods – so being optimistic keeps me happy, but at the same time i do make sure i’m ready to face anything…i have hopes and dreams and i try to be optimistic of every situation’s outcome, but i do make sure i have the strength to face facts if it were to turn out otherwise..

    dunno if i made any sense, so i’ll stop here 😀

    November 12, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    • viswajithkn

      hmm…it does…what u r saying is be optimistic but at the same time be prepared to face the consequences…that borders some where between optimistic and practicality…fair enuf!

      November 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  2. Being optimistic that something will work out, but not doing all that is required to get there, is the worst thing that you can do to yourself. And we must realize that somethings are NOT possible. Like me making it alive through an arctic expedition were I to start on one tomorrow! I am thoroughly not prepared and I will die if I take that course. Optimism cannot be justified by blind faith! It must have a logical backing. To the idealists who say that anything is possible, I will say maybe, and that it must be preceded by lots and lots of preparation, planning and work! “Everything” is definitely not possible tomorrow.
    I have such a strong opinion on this at this point in time because I had an argument with a friend last night about his statement that there is nothing that is impossible!

    November 12, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    • And my comment is slightly off the topic of your post. Sorry for the derailment!

      November 12, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    • viswajithkn

      What you are saying is correct. But that doesnt mean anyone has a right to say that “I have given up on you!”

      November 12, 2009 at 8:34 pm

      • So, are you saying they mustn’t say it? 🙂 They have the right to their opinion, and you as an adult, have all the rights to disregard it! A good friend though, will be able to reason with you about why they have that opinion and maybe one or the other will see light. Trying to convince the other can open up fallacies in ones argument and that usually helps a lot.

        November 13, 2009 at 1:21 am

      • viswajithkn

        Yeah…Kinda makes sense…

        November 13, 2009 at 1:31 am

  3. i am usually very optimistic, but i do prepare myself for things to turn out not as desired…like they say, expect the best, prepare for the worst…
    but honestly i’m not very good at drawing the line :/

    November 12, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    • viswajithkn

      Jab hoga thab dekha jaayega…thats what I believe in! For now I would rather stay optimistic and ensure that whatever I want comes through rather than preparing for the worst!

      November 12, 2009 at 8:36 pm

  4. I think when I call myself optimistic; I hope for desired outcome; and if it goes against desired I believe in something better stored in for me. Of course there will be pain for what is gone but something better will turn up next gives me hope to move on and live in present. Do I make sense ? 🙂

    December 8, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    • viswajithkn

      Exactly. Your point is very valid and makes perfect sense to me. 🙂

      December 8, 2009 at 8:08 pm

Leave a Reply

