Just another WordPress.com weblog

Devils Labyrinth

So the other day I had attended a function at the end of which the American National Anthem was being played. I am sorry if you brand me as ignorant or negligent, I had heard the American anthem only twice before this I believe. Once during my graduation ceremony and before that once during my friends’ graduation ceremony. And here I was standing amongst predominantly South Asians, listening to the American anthem. I look around and find most of them placing their right hands on their chest and singing it. My friend who is standing next to me and doing the same looked at me weirdly and pointed me to follow whatever he was doing (they were doing!) I do not know but somehow even after 3 years in this country and with a proper visa I still feel as if I am an alien here. I am not blaming anyone for the people in this country are most helpful and most welcoming. This country has employed me and provided a finishing touch to my education. But somehow it is me who is just refusing to mingle in this vast ocean. For me this country is an awesome place to earn money, beautiful place if you want to travel, a place where one can have a great social life but will at any point I adopt this country as mine? Nope. This will continue when I get better words to put in writing whatever is in my mind. And as far as the title is concerned “an idle mind is a devils workshop” proved right for me. After having finished a novel to read and having watched the NBA finals I did not know what to do when the devils workshop started putting together this post…:)

13 responses

  1. Nishant

    Well, It is hard for me to accept that too…I am not sure how many of them thought what you did and did what you did not…Most people are conditioned that way…..We have a tendency to follow what others do…like the herd of sheep…there is no way a goat gets lost….I dont think what you have done is any crime……

    Phylosophically….many books,saints and scientists say that the people of this planet are like small atomic particles interconnected (Butterfly effect) any way…my comment is as big as your blog..as long as you do not hurt any one’s emotions and ego you are not bound to do anything….

    June 15, 2009 at 4:50 am

    • viswajithkn

      Om Namo Narayanaaaaaaaaaya…:P

      June 15, 2009 at 4:54 am

  2. Witsnnuts

    Still Desi @ heart ??
    Nice to see u increasing your posting frequency . πŸ™‚

    June 15, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    • viswajithkn

      As of now yeah…a desi @ heart! πŸ™‚ hope to stay the same…:D

      June 15, 2009 at 5:20 pm

  3. save this post, read it 10 years later and let me know if you still feel the same way. πŸ™‚

    June 21, 2009 at 3:20 am

    • viswajithkn

      Thats what I mentioned in one of my comments. As of now an out and out desi…hope to stay the same way…:P

      June 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm

  4. I think on the same lines. No matter how much I start liking a foreign country, it would still be foreign to me. I would never call any country mine except India, no matter how many things I don’t like here.
    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll, I am adding you too. Nice blog here πŸ™‚

    June 24, 2009 at 5:41 am

    • viswajithkn

      Thanks…I like writing though cannot pursue it yet fully…:D

      June 24, 2009 at 3:31 pm

  5. Hey, just happened to chance across here via another blog.

    Interesting post, I think it all boils down to each individuals mind-set. I moved out when I was two, and lived all over, but regardless, I still hold true to my Indian roots. Though there are others, that moved outta India when they were young and completely become one with the new country the moved too. Nothing wrong with that necessarily, but I’m the kind of person that feels like living in another country should be 50% acclimatization, and 50% bringing your personal flavor in as an expat. I see it as taking up as an opportunity to not only learn from the foreign culture, but also share your roots (what’s ‘foreign’ in their eyes) with them.

    I’ve lived in the US before, and in my time there I was never embarrassed to be Indian in front of my American friends, nor was I pretending to be 101% American in front of them. I was just being me. A confused mix of one too many cultures. πŸ™‚

    June 25, 2009 at 9:24 am

    • viswajithkn

      Now thats what gets to me…I am not saying that I am embarrassed being an Indian in front of other country friends. The case I explained in my blog is what drives me nuts. The confusion. Not mine. But seeing so many confused souls…:D For me either it is here or there. Nothing in the middle. A confused soul is something in the middle. πŸ™‚

      June 25, 2009 at 3:58 pm

      • The case you mentioned would drive me nutty too, I’d say half of those people would fall into the category “pretending to be 101% American”. πŸ˜› But as for the confusion, sometimes you can’t help it when you’ve lived all over. You discover so many different sides of yourself, I mean at the end of the day, whatever the percentage breakdown is, it always totals up to a 100%. So you always feel whole, but explaining what it is you represent or where it is you come from is very multi-dimensional.

        If you wanted to explore the ‘grey’ area in between the black or white, you should check out articles about ‘Third Culture Kids’. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_culture_kid). Helps explains kids like me. πŸ™‚

        June 25, 2009 at 4:14 pm

  6. whoami

    why didnt u sing: ek gaaon mein?

    July 2, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    • viswajithkn

      lol…I sang twinkle twinkle little stars!

      July 2, 2009 at 9:23 pm

Leave a Reply

