Just another WordPress.com weblog

Entertainment! But at what cost?

Been a while since I last blogged. So what has changed? I have moved to a new place. I make a conscious effort to bike to work daily. I have not blogged coz I did not know what to blog about. I am a soccer fan too. And like many in the world am a Manchester United fan. Not becuase they have Rooney, or HAD Ronaldo. But because of the manager and their style of play. I like Barcelona too but I do not follow them avidly. So what??? I was seriously wondering if the people running clubs went mad. A flow of 136 million pounds within a week? First from Bernebeau to San Siro, then from Bernebeau to Old trafford. I am not disappointed for Man UTD. As a fan I am happy for them. Ronaldo was a cry baby and this transfer was more or less bound to happen. But what irritated me was the fee. At a time when the world is facing a serious economic crisis how the hell did Mr. Perez finance such costly moves?  I had a similar question during the IPL auction when players like Flintoff and Pietersen were bought for a million and a half dollars each. Compared to the Ronaldo saga this amounts to nothing. But for a country of India’s stature infinite things could be done with a million and a half dollars. The players made such a ridiculous sum of money for playing just 5-6 games. There is a limit between spending lavishly and spending atrociously. I believe that a country like India has not yet reached the maturity level to spend such atrocious amounts just for entertainment. At times I just am not able to digest the fact that some of us (including me here so that ppl do not think that am a hypocrite) lead lavish lives when there are thousands and millions and crores out there somewhere who do not get to eat a morsel of food for days. We look at worldly pleasures and try to get satisfied from them. When there are some who are not able to meet the basic needs of life. Time to think? Hell ya. And lets start off from our own individual localities.

2 responses

  1. Nishant

    Only if IPL was held in the USA, the condition in the country would have improved….Well, South Africa took advantage this time….I am amazed how entertainment and food industry never suffers any recession…go to any food court in India……man where is recession prevalent is my question…haha

    June 14, 2009 at 3:37 am

    • viswajithkn

      Lol…same here in the bay area daa…

      June 14, 2009 at 5:29 am

Leave a Reply

