Just another WordPress.com weblog

Land of Dreams Contd…

So the last time I posted on the trials and tribulations faced in USA we stopped Harry’s story when he found his apartment. That sunday Harry and Sai move in to their new apartment, get settled in and await the other two…Suniel and Narayan. The story continues starting Monday morning…

Sai had set an alarm the next morning to wake up asap so that we could get move on, open a bank account and get acquainted with the department and the campus. On the other hand I Harry was not an early morning person. And having just enjoyed a long vacation starting May till August when each day I used to wake up at my own sweet time, waking at 8 in the morning seemed to be a mountain to climb. By 9 that morning the two of us were ready after gobbling up a quick breakfast. So we made our way slowly through the strange roads, alien people, alien environment and under searing hot sun. Even Chennai would have seemed cooler during the hottest of summer days, I felt. The manager at the bank seemed to be a level headed woman and helped us through the formalities. It is then that we realize Social Security Number is a necessity in USA. We plan to get that done the next morning but for the time being decide topay a quick visit to our respective departments. And there began the tribulation. Trying to look around for fee waivers and scholarships was the beginning. Having high spirits I walked in to meet the head of the department. After the usual lecture about the courses to take and what not (I might have dozed off half way through) I vaguely heard him talking about assistantships. I jerked off my sleepiness and paid attention to his words. He was saying something along the likes of “only PhD’s get teaching assistantships” and again I zonked off. By the time I returned home that evening after what was a tough day I found Sai already asleep. It seemed like the long and tough day had taken a toll on him. And here I was sitting and waiting for someone to talk to. Finally after waiting for sometime for Sai to wake up I decide to pay Rakesh a visit so as to be around some familiar faces…

The time spent hanging around Rakesh and some other friends of his helped me in getting to make new friends. Yet there was this sick lonely feeling. A feeling that I had never encountered before. A feeling that is totally new. The price I believe I have to pay for this independence.

10 responses

  1. begenning student life in the USA 101!
    😉
    So Harry felt homesick…What next?

    April 14, 2009 at 5:06 am

  2. ow, this is a fiction, eh? 🙂

    okay,but why is randomThoughtsandwhimsies striked-out?? 😀

    June 2, 2009 at 6:58 pm

  3. viswajithkn

    was that meant to be wow as in being sarcastic or wow as in truly admiring the write up? 😛 random thoughts and whimsies is striked out coz i dont like that blog…:P

    June 2, 2009 at 7:02 pm

  4. ‘ow’ was just a sound 😛

    ha ha .. then why don’t you just remove that link !? would help get me more privacy 😀

    June 2, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  5. viswajithkn

    was just kidding…have been searching for a blog whose author is in the same age group as mine…:P and yeah if u want more privacy may be u sud restrict the access to u r blaagu…:D

    June 2, 2009 at 7:12 pm

  6. lol .. yeah, I have already restricted that for the search engines.. haven’t been having many visitors since then, anyway!

    June 2, 2009 at 7:14 pm

  7. viswajithkn

    yeah…but restrict the access after granting me access…:D that wud be greatu and appreciated…

    June 2, 2009 at 7:17 pm

  8. 🙂 thanks for the interest shown 🙂 I am okay with a few people knowing me 😉 after all, I am quite lazy to grant access to people one-by-one 😀

    June 2, 2009 at 7:23 pm

  9. viswajithkn

    hmm…thanks for granting access fraulein…

    June 2, 2009 at 7:26 pm

  10. bitte! 🙂

    June 2, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

