Just another WordPress.com weblog

Instinctive Diplomat

Today I was having a conversation with a good friend of mine about which is better? Being instinctive or being diplomatic? At times during conversations, words just flow out of my mouth. I mean, If I feel that what I speak is correct, I blurt it out, even if others think that it is crap. And that is how I take most of my decisions. I think about them for a couple of minutes. Think if what I am doing is correct or not? If it appears correct to me, I hardly spare a second thought. Coming back to the issue whether being instinctive serves you right or being a diplomat serves you right? Now let me provide my definition of being diplomatic! Diplomatic to me is, choosing one’s word carefully and being cautious. I would agree to the point of being cautious if its some big decision. But for petty conversations amongst friends too, if one chooses to being diplomatic, it kind of does not serve the very purpose of having friends right? Even if you crap out something to friends because of your tendency to react instinctively, your friends should be able to understand you right? In that way being instinctive does help! And how about taking decisions? One should not regret making any decision at any point of time if it is taken on an instinctive manner! My personal belief though is that being a diplomat is what all those UN officials, IAS officers are for…A normal human being can live based on his gut feeling and intuition!

14 responses

  1. Red Phoenix

    how instinctively written my dear diplomat friend…. 🙂

    June 11, 2008 at 5:52 pm

  2. Macadamia The Nut

    It’s not all that black and white you know 😦
    It depends on a lot of factors.. like what your perception of diplomacy is.. who you want to be ‘diplomatic’ or ‘instinctive’ with…

    For example, the way you respond to a friend and to the VP of your company during the course of a normal conversation would be totally different right? You would be more ‘instinctive’ with your friend and more ‘diplomatic’ with the VP?

    Also, what about hurting other’s feelings? Some don’t give a s*it, but there are others who do…

    Ah well.. various shades of grey in between and all that blah

    Don’t mind me. I’m just thinking out loud 😀

    June 13, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  3. viswajith.k.n

    Hurting others feelings? I do not necessarily agree with you on that point! When you are diplomatic, your phrases might have hidden meanings or even worse, you might leave it to u r poor friend to decipher if your phrases hurt him or do not! And you yourself choose to carefully play around words thereby trying to not hurt him and yet keeping things to yourself…My point is even if you are ‘instinctive’ your friends should understand you enough that they know you just blabbered something in the heat of the moment…Something that happens in the heat of the moment can be easier to forget and move on too!

    June 13, 2008 at 4:34 pm

  4. viswajith.k.n

    Hurting others feelings? I do not necessarily agree with you on that point! When you are diplomatic, your phrases might have hidden meanings or even worse, you might leave it to u r poor friend to decipher if your phrases hurt him or do not! And you yourself choose to carefully play around words thereby trying to not hurt him and yet keeping things to yourself…My point is even if you are ‘instinctive’ your friends should understand you enough that they know you just blabbered something in the heat of the moment…Something that happens in the heat of the moment can be easier to forget and move on too!

    June 13, 2008 at 4:37 pm

  5. Macadamia The Nut

    Like I said… it different with ‘some’ friends. Then there are the dainty darlings with fragile egos… So do we take a firm stance? Or moderate according to each person?

    June 13, 2008 at 4:43 pm

  6. viswajith.k.n

    First of all…r u total vetti now? :P..just kidding…Moderating according to each person makes it more complicated for an idle brain like mine which is not accustomed to such top notch thinking!

    June 13, 2008 at 4:56 pm

  7. Macadamia The Nut

    Omg!
    Stop press! The boy has a brain he says!

    June 16, 2008 at 3:12 pm

  8. viswajith.k.n

    No one else recognizes the fact that the boy has a brain…so there is no go but to publicize the fact…:P

    June 17, 2008 at 6:47 pm

  9. Macadamia The Nut

    Sometimes overt publicity is done where there’s nothing much to advertise in the first place 😀

    June 17, 2008 at 9:23 pm

  10. viswajith.k.n

    As long as there are ppl (fools) to believe in your publicity you do not mind…And yeah no one can deny the truth can they?? 😛

    June 18, 2008 at 1:06 am

  11. Macadamia The Nut

    Err, so you want fools to believe that you’re something you’re not while the more intelligent ones know what you really are that you’d rather they don’t?
    Hmmmm 😀
    Truth is a relative term my friend. Lol!

    June 18, 2008 at 2:00 pm

  12. Macadamia The Nut

    P.S. I think I’ve make you’re comments section more like some forum. SO I shall cease for now 😀

    June 18, 2008 at 2:01 pm

  13. viswajith.k.n

    naa…not a problem…this forum as u so said, enables me to relax at times…:P and was it u who commented first and deleted it?

    June 18, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  14. Macadamia The Nut

    Yeah 😀 Spelling mistakes 😀

    June 19, 2008 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

